Awards time!

Hi! I didn’t think you would be interested in what I do, like and… mess up, but two very sweet bloggers, Cheila from Pink For Days  and Mrs S LDN nominated me for these awards, so I owe it to them to write this post (thank you girls! I’m chaffed that you’ve chosen little me!) and I hope you’re not bored reading it. Don’t worry, there won’t be any more awards after this.

Liebster award

Liebster award (nominated by Cheila, Pink for Days , thank you! )

Cheila’s questions:

  1. What show are you binge-watching right now?

Ah, now you can see how nerdy I am! I’m watching Galapagos http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08l675t, cuddled up with one of my daughters. Pure bliss! (The cuddles that is, not the knowledge that the presenter, Liz Bonnin, is older than me but much hotter)

  1. What are you reading?

Very British Problems, by Rob Temple. Very funny. And How to be a grown up, by Daisy Buchanan. You’d think I should know by now…

  1. What do you usually go for if you’re cooking just for yourself?

It never happens that I cook for myself. If I’m alone at home, I shout ‘Yippee!’, stick a sachet of porridge in the microwave and put my feet up to read a book.

  1. What’s your favourite eye and hair colour?

I think that eye and hair colour don’t make anyone more or less beautiful ( listen well, daughters of mine!)

  1. What sports did you practice in high school?

Running with my ridiculous curls bouncing up and down (I’m sure they slowed me down!) during PE lessons. But mostly, I did boys-watching.

  1. How many hours a day do you spend on the internet?

Uhm, this question is too sensitive. Family members could be watching…

  1. Do you choose your outfit in the day before or in the morning?

Thirty seconds before I leave home. And it’s usually whatever I was wearing the day before.

  1. Can you play any instrument?

Guitar and piano, but only just enough to have a little fun.

  1. Do you prefer hot weather or cold weather?

Cold weather! That’s why I like living in the UK.

  1. What is your favourite fruit?

The Citron. It’s a huge lemon with extra thick rind, which Sicilians eat in thin slices, sprinkled with salt.

Citron

  1. Can you swim? How old were you when you learned?

I love swimming. As a child, every summer I would learn how to swim and then forget it over the winter, so I had to learn all over again the following summer! But I think I’ve got it now.

One Lovely Blog Award

One Lovely Blog Award (nominated by Mrs S LDN, thank you!)

7 Facts about me:

  1. I once worked as a voice artist or toys. There must be some Italian households where I’m still teaching children that “E” is for “Elefante” through a toy computer.
  2. I arrived to the UK with so little English that I couldn’t even read Harry Potter. Now I’m a writer (pursue, persevere, persist – #mamapeptalkingtoomuch )
  3. I hate all chocolate except white
  4. I dislike coffee and wine (I hope that’s not grounds for having one’s Italian passport revoked)
  5. I used to eat limpets straight off the rocks. Alive.
  6. And sea urchins (but there were plenty in the sea back then).
  7. When I grow up some more, I’d like to become Queen. It doesn’t look like age could be an issue. If I can’t be Queen, then writer will do.

Nominations

[drum roll]

These are the blogs I nominate for either or both awards (at their choice):

  1. Tanglewood Knots by Tami – great craft and useful blogging advice. Plus Tami is a lovely person
  2. The Cobweborium Emporium, by Mrs Cobs – clever, crafty and very funny
  3. Just Another Single Girl in London by Giulia – insightful and honest
  4. The Travelling Diary of a Dippy Dotty Girl, by Dippy Dotty Girl – among her latest posts, I love the Diary of a Dandy Traveller.
  5. Jovina Cooks, by Jovina – great food, useful advice, no frills. Did you know what’s in season in May?
  6. Strictly lighthearted by Muna – amusing and, well… lighthearted.
  7. Ipuna Black, by Ipuna Black – inspirational, kind, supportive, generally a nice place.
  8. Oran Doyle, by Oran Doyle – writer and stay-at-home dad’s blog. Obviously, a well written blog. And funny.
  9. Riddle from the Middle, by Laura – serious but also funny
  10. Leadership to Mummyship, by Sharon – one of my latest discoveries
  11. A dash of Jhaee by Janet – another one of my latest discoveries
  12. Joeyfullystated by Joey – great writing, very funny
  13. All in a Dad’s work, by Eric (Stomperdad) – you’ve already got one Liebster award, but you can do the One Lovely Blog Award
  14. Mummy Rules, by Tilly – funny and useful parenting blog
  15. Welcome to the nursery, by Katherine, my newest online friend

If you choose the Liebster award:

  1. Answer the 11 questions that your nominator has asked you
  2. Nominate 11 other bloggers
  3. Ask your nominees 11 questions
  4. Let them know that you have nominated them

These are my questions:

  1. What’s the worst bit of advice anyone has ever given you?
  2. What’s your favourite food/dish ever?
  3. Tell us about a time when you found yourself in a pickle
  4. Tell us something funny your child said or you said when you were a child.
  5. What’s your favourite colour and why?
  6. What are you reading now? (comics, food packets, toilet roll patterns, anything counts)
  7. If you were a dog, what would you be?
  8. If you could be a fairy tale character, which would you choose?
  9. If you could ask advice from an all-knowing and all-wise person, what would you ask? (lottery numbers excluded)

I should have asked eleven questions but I’m a rebel so I’m stopping here to assert my freedom (actually, I’ve run out of ideas).

If you choose the One Lovely Blogger Award:

  1. Each nominee must thank the person who nominated them and link their blog in post
  2. They must include the rules and add the blog award badge as an image
  3. Must add 7 facts about them
  4. Must nominate 15 people

Have fun and thank you for reading!

Love

The Sicilian Mama

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Aha, so now we know a little more about you, Sicilian Mama. Wishing you good luck with the awards.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ipuna Black says:

    Thank you! So nice to get to know you better. Don’t worry about answering my questions, you had a bunch thrown at you! I appreciate the blogging support. Trying to become a published authors takes perseverance and persistence for sure! I’m in that “game” as well. Trucking along. I wish you the best. I’m glad we are connected. Thank you for your kind words above as well. I truly appreciate it. Have a wonderful weekend!! ❤️​

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. Best of luck for your writing and have a happiness-filled weekend. [ heart emoji, if I knew how to do it]

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ipuna Black says:

        Thank you!! ❤️😀

        Like

  3. Megala says:

    Congratulations!
    Nice to know more about you!!
    Liked your tags for the nominees!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tami says:

    Thank you so much Mama! I am very honored and beyond delighted that I stumbled onto your blog! I thoroughly enjoy your wit and humor. I am very committed to community support for bloggers, so I will be choosing the Liebster Award and when I have the opportunity I will be answering your intriguing questions and nominate some new bloggers to get them some exposure! Thank you again and have a delightful weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for your kind words. I look forward to reading your answers 🙂
    Have a lovely weekend x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations! It was so nice to learn about you…how can you not like coffee and 🍷? Yes I can see how that might surprise many people, specifically from your home land. And I love your question: what fairytale character might you be. Maybe I’ll answer that in the future. And thank you so much for listing my blog. That’s so sweet of you! Congratulations again, well deserved. 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day 😉

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

