Packing tips for a stress-free holiday

Holidays are usually fab and fun, but can also be stressful. Packing wisely will help you face any travelling glitches with the confidence of someone who’s wearing clean underpants.

  1. Pack aspirationally…

packing 2

  1. … but realistically

packing 3

  1. Pack items with compatible styles and colours, then mix and match them to create many different outfits to make your travelling companions believe that you’re wearing clean clothes even when you’re not. Which brings me to the next point:

Packing 1

  1. Take deodorant. And some perfume, to spray on clothes which have become a bit…tired.
  2. Earplugs and eye patches are my travelling essentials. Insomniac guard dogs, late parties, paper-thin hotel walls, can ruin your sleep and make you grumpy.
  3. Of course, comfy shoes are essential, even better if they suit all your outfits. But don’t take too many. Pumps seem to do very well both during day walks and the night parties.
  4. An emergency sewing kit (or even just a safety pin) and a few plasters are always good to have. In fact, I keep them in my wallet (and have used them several times!)
  5. Take some reading material for the inevitable time when you get bored of your partner’ company and he of yours.
  6. A large scarf can double up as extra blanket, cardigan substitute, pillow thickener, impromptu sarong, teddy hammock, and balcony escape rope. So, pack one.
  7. Don’t take stuff ‘just in case’. Making do with what you have (the large scarf) can be fun, liberating and creative.
  8. For a truly relaxing holiday, leave your laptop at home.
  9. If you’re brave to the point of foolhardiness, leave your smartphone too. Plug your SIM card into a non–smart phone for those calls you cannot avoid (hotel, taxi, etc.) and bring along a digital camera.
  10. I know you won’t leave your smartphone at home. So remember to bring the charger.
  11. If you’re travelling by air, remember that wet dirty clothes are heavier than dry clean ones. Pack with some weight slack (also because you’d like to buy a souvenir for Mum and Dad, so sweet of you!).

Now that you’re packed, share your packing tips in the comments below.

Have a wonderful summer!

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Honestly I’m the worst at bringing “just in case” items. But in case you need more room, roll your clothes versus laying them flat. Honestly, I’m getting better.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great tip! I even read that rolling clothes makes them less creased. Thank you for this.

    Like

  3. Great clothing tips!!! I can never roll mine though… always creases…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I also do because, even though I know it’s better, it just looks scary !

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ipuna Black says:

    I need to refer to this list the next time I go out of town! I always seem to forget something.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. In your case, as you’re a writer, I’d also pack a notebook and pen. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ipuna Black says:

        Right!! I always have that or my laptop to jot some notes down.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Good job! This way you won’t end up scribbling on a used paper tissue like I’ve done (alright, maybe it wasn’t used, just crinkled) 🙂

          Like

          1. Ipuna Black says:

            😂​ You crack me up, but good point!

            Liked by 1 person

  5. Tami says:

    I seldom travel anymore – but when I do I end up bringing more just in case supplies than actual necessities!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Afterall, don’t heroes in stories always carry in their pockets random objects ( hair pins, string, coins, pen knives…) which save their day?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I am also guilty of bringing too many “Just In Case” items! I hardly end up using them! One of my packing tips is to plan all your outfits in advance so you know what to bring, and wear the bulkiest items to leave space in your suitcase! I also love using packing cubes (or those mesh bags laundry bags) to keep all my clothing separate and organised! I love the way you wrote this post by the way, so entertaining! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Emma, thank you for your excellent advice!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I can never pack light. I fill up a suitcase ven for weekend trips! 🙈🙈🙈 I need to be more practical…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. But I bet you can always find a nail scissor or a cotton bud when you need them (I always end up with dirty ears and long fingernails if the holiday is too long…) 😉

    Like

  9. dawnwairimu says:

    Love it! The earplug thing jumped out at me because i literally JUST wrote a blogpost about that. 🙂 Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m off to read yours. 🙂

      Like

  10. travelgorilla says:

    Hi there,
    I also found an interactive packing list here: http://travel-checklist.com/ it might help. They have cool lists for multiple purposes.

    Keep blogging

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

