The Bikini Test

We Italians spend lots of time and energy getting our bodies ready for the infamous ‘bikini test’. With 3400 km of coastline, most Italian end up on the beach at some point or other during the summer. I remember looking at shop windows and saying to myself: “I’ll buy that swim suit and get rid of a few kgs.”

Now I go for a swimming suit that flatters me, that works for me rather than me working for it. I believe that it’s much better to change our swimming suits to suit our bodies than to change our bodies to suit the swimming suit.

What do you think?

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Definitely, I always change my swimsuit to fit my body…. resulting in the indulgence of more cannoli….lol… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, how I love cannoli!

    Like

  3. kmuccigrosso says:

    Bravo!!!! Agreed❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Agree 100%. I’ve only just in the last couple of months have accepted that I’d be more comfortable going a size up in jeans and you know what? I look and feel so much better doing it. Yes I’ve obviously put on weight but admitting that and being comfortable in my bigger pants has made a drastic change in the way I view myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What you say rings very true with me!
    Do you keep your old tighter jeans, or do you take them to the charity shop?
    I’ve kept mine, if they still looked nice, officially so that my daughters can have them when they grow up. But considering that they’re already taller than me…
    …the actual (secret) reason is probably that I hope to one day get back into them! πŸ˜‚

    Like

  6. Dear The Sicilian Mama, will you like to help us promote our product on Word press, twitter, facebook and other Website?
    We are seller from Amazon,
    Here is our product link:http://amzn.to/2utRakX
    If you have interesting in it ,
    Please tell us your email,
    Here is our email:1176444243@qq.com
    Wait your respond

    Like

    1. Thank you, but I’ve decided not to do any product promotions.

      Like

  7. What’s a bikini? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a two-pieces swimming suit for women, the type that leaves your belly uncovered.

      Like

      1. I know! It was an incredulous question…there is no way a bikini is going anywhere near my body lol! For me it’s a full bather with corset strength front, under-wiring & plenty of criss-cross nonsense over my stomach πŸ˜‚ X

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oops, silly me! It seemed a strange question but I thought you were really asking it! Your laughing emojis should have alerted me. So much for today being international emoji day, and I totally missed it! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Never has truer words been spoken. It’s time we all find happiness in how we are and adjust our clothing around our shape rather than pulling ourself apart because we don’t fit into that outrageous piece of lace or string that looked cute on the mannequin. I have all my wrongly sized clothing away and stopped paying attention to the size tag and just buy what actually fits comfortably. I’ve found d clothing is much more flattering and I’m happier. It’s better to buy the size that fits than the size you want to be, because you don’t get bulging and bumps in the right sizes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, they always look cute on the plastic mannequin!
      You’re right. Not only we don’t get bulging and bumps, but we don’t get embarrassing rips when squatting πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

